The CTC explained the opportunities generated by the MCTS El Bocal to various international organisations and research centres

The CTC Technology Centre explained the possibilities and potential of having a marine laboratory as unique as the MCTS El Bocal to various representatives of the Smart Atlantic Seafood Clusters (SAFER) project. This is a European initiative, in which the Government of Cantabria is participating, through the Ministry of Innovation, Industry, Tourism and Trade, and which aims to establish a transnational network of fishing clusters and innovators in the Atlantic area.

Álvaro Rodríguez, head of the Industry and Energy area at CTC, was responsible for presenting both the main lines of activity of the only technology centre in the region and the opportunities offered by the MCTS El Bocal to several SAFER consortium members visiting Santander.

For 15 minutes, the CTC researcher explained the fields in which CTC is currently working and spoke about some of the advantages of having a unique test site in Europe. Mr Rodríguez also linked the main R&D projects being developed by the Technology Centre in collaboration with the IEO (The Spanish Institute of Oceanography) and the Ministry of Innovation, Industry, Tourism and Trade.

The CTC researcher spoke of ECOMAR, an initiative for the evaluation and mitigation of the corrosion and degradation phenomena in marine energy devices, and PREDICOR, aimed at predicting corrosion in lattice structures for the optimisation of protection, design and maintenance systems. Finally, Mr Rodríguez mentioned the MONICOR project, which works on the digitisation of the MCTS El Bocal.

The conference, held at the headquarters of the Spanish Institute of Oceanography and whose primary objective was to inform the members of the project about the possibilities offered by the IEO to develop unique activities, ended with a visit to the facilities of the marine laboratory. SAFER has a completion period of 36 months and a total budget of 1,819,692 euros. The consortium is made up of organisations and research centres from France, the United Kingdom, Portugal, Ireland and Canada.